IT Graduates Honoured at Awards Ceremony

Back Row: L-R: George Greenslade, Kieran Cummins, Ciaran Gallagher, David Philbin, Alexandru Locodi, Conor Flynn, Darren King Front Row: L-R: Professor Peter McHugh, Dean of College of Engineering and Informatics, Nicole Ferry, Minister of State Sean Kyne TD, Kerry Quinlan WestBIC, Colin Barbour CISCO, Dylan Kelly, Dr Michael Schukat, Head of Discipline of Information Technology
Nov 06 2017 Posted: 11:03 CST

Graduates of the Discipline of Information Technology were honoured at an awards ceremony, which took place in IT 202 on Friday, October 20th, 2017.  Five awards were presented to IT students who excelled in their field at undergraduate and postgraduate level.

In attendance was Sean Kyne TD, Minister of State for Natural Resources, Community Affairs and Digital Development, Professor Peter McHugh, Dean of the College of Engineering and Informatics, and Dr Michael Schukat, Head of Discipline of Information Technology.

Company representatives from CISCO, Fidelity Investments and WestBIC presented the awards, in recognition of student achievement.

The 2017 winners are:

CISCO award for Best Final Year Project

BSc Computer Science and Information Technology

Winners: Alexandru Locodi and Darren King

CISCO award for Best Group Project

HDip Software Design and Development

Winners: Kieran Cummins, Ciaran Gallagher and George Greenslade.

Fidelity Investments Best Student of the Year Award

BSc Computer Science and Information Technology

Winner: Dylan Kelly

WestBIC Innovation Award

BSc Computer Science and Information Technology

Winners: Caroline Richardson, Daniel Beggan, David Philbin, Nicole Ferry

Best Final Year Project

BA Information Technology

Winners; Conor Flynn and Fiachra Coyne


Speaking at the event, Dr Michael Schukat said:

“I want to give special thanks to our company sponsors, CISCO, Fidelity Investments and WestBIC.  Their willingness to support our students, from our undergraduate and postgraduate programmes, is very much appreciated and is testament to the close relationship we have with industry. We want to continue to expand our community and industry engagement, and it is events such as this that continue to bring us together.

“As award winners, you have displayed your ability for innovation, excellence and commitment to your education. The diversity of your projects reflects the ever changing demands of computer science and information technology. 

“You are at the forefront of your field.  From game theory, machine learning and image recognition, to the very latest in mobile apps - you have already made key advances in these specialised areas through your research – which we acknowledge today.

“With recognition comes both opportunity and responsibility.  You have a responsibility to yourself to thrive in your specialised area, whether through a rewarding career, or through further study. 

“You have the opportunity to say you are an award winner at NUI, Galway – a recognition of excellence that cannot be taken away from you – and will be acknowledged by companies and colleges at home and abroad.

“As Head of the Discipline of IT, I want to thank you especially for choosing to study with us here, and wish you the very best of luck in the future.”

College of Engineering and Informatics

Information Technology